Distracted driving is a leading cause of auto accidents in Georgia. The Georgia hands free law passed in July 2018 did little to stop accidents caused by distracted driving. Distracted driving accidents include use of cell phones, GPS, eating, drinking, applying makeup or anything else that takes your eyes off the road.
Distracted Driving Penalties in Georgia
- 1st Offense – $50 and one point on your license
- 2nd Offense – $100 and two points on your license
- 3rd Offense – $150 and three points on your license
Thousands of people are killed nationwide in distracted driving accidents and many more are seriously injured. Do you know if the person who caused your accident was a distracted driver? If so, you may be entitled to additional compensation. It is important to have an accident attorney that understands how to handle these claims and will fight for a great result.
Tips to avoid distracted driving crashes
- If you are the passenger encourage the driver to stay focused on the road while you adjust the radio or handle any potentially distracting task
- Use the automated response features available on your cellular phone while driving.
- Limit the number of passengers in the car.
- Do not eat while driving.
- Utilize the preset functions of your radio
- Get plenty of rest before taking a road trip and stop for breaks every couple hours
- Allow other passengers to take turns driving
call (404) 876-4200 today or contact ReisLaw, Atlanta’s Leading Personal Injury Law Firm. Our consultations are absolutely FREE. We will help you fully understand your rights in this situation. Our attorneys have specialized training in the fields of Workers’ Compensation as well as Personal Injuries.